Skip to main content

2020 - 2021: High School - Public Service Announcement Winners

Students developed PSAs for their mock client and program sponsor, the Sacramento Area Sewer District (SASD) and Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District (Regional San). To develop their PSAs, students could choose from multiple topics aimed at teaching people in the Sacramento region how they can help keep the sewers flowing smoothly and protect our local waterways. PSAs were produced in either the live-action or animated category, and  cash prizes was awarded to the winning students and teachers.

Live Action Public Service Announcement Award Winners

The first place live-action public service announcement was produced by Sam Strachan, Derek Larson, Jack Vicari of Christain Brothers High School. The video called "Don't Spill Your Pills".

The second-place live-action PSA "Don't Plug Pipes" was produced by AnnaMaria Thomas, Eeshwar Doma, Nicole Staggs, Abigail Madrigal-Geary from Christain Brothers HS.



The third place live-action PSA "Don't Flush Wipes" produced by Nicholas Kraemer from Franklin High School.


Animation Public Service Announcement Award Winners

The first place animated PSA from Chase Burrell-Agnew of Franklin High School "Purrtect Your Pipes" video.


The second-place animated PSA "Don't Be Shy, Call SASD" was produced by Emily Cho of Franklin High School.


The third-place animated public service announcement "Remove the Mercury" was produced by Noelle Hansen from Franklin High School.

Honorable Mention - Certificate were awarded to the following students for their videos

Live Action video called "Don't Flush Your Meds" was produced by Aliyah Narciso from Franklin High School.


Live action video submitted, "Use Your Head, Don't Flush Your Meds!" by Madeline McDougall, Ian Shaw, Jolie Gomez, Emily Mayes from Christain Brothers HS.


Jordan Wong from Franklin HS produced the Live Action video "Throw Away the Right Way".



"Call Them First" Live Actio video created by Jackson Collins from Franklin HS.

Award of Merit Recipients

Certificates of Merit are also awarded by Access Sacramento and the sponsoring agencies to the student projects that  closely aligned with the messages requested.


Producer: Alan Abelaye-Mateo from Franklin HS
 PSA Title:  "Trash Those Wipes" Live action

Producer: Hayley Christensen of Franklin HS
 PSA Title: "LetWhat To D's Pause" Live action

Producer: Nicholas Jimenez from Franklin HS
 PSA Title: "When We Flush the Wipes" Live action

Producer: Isabella Maes from Franklin HS 
PSA Title: "Call First" Live action

Producer: Danielle Tong from Franklin HS
PSA Title: "Don't Drainhe The FOG, Stop The Clog" Live action

Producer: Jaelyn Villarreal from Franklin HS
 PSA Title: "Dispose of Fats Oils and Grease Properly" Live action

Producer: Luis Barragan from Christian Brothers HS
 PSA Name: "Hey! What are you Doing?" Live action

Producers: Kaycie Garrett from Folsom HS
 PSA Title: "Regional SAN" Live action

Producer: Drew deGuzman, Ashley Rodriguez, Luis Campos from Christian Brothers HS
PSA Title: "Don't Ruin Your Family Meals" Live action 

Producers: Samantha Franco, Sydney Lutterman, Garret Nowaczyk, Marcelino Diaz from Christian Brothers HS 
PSA Title: "Fighting the FOG" Live action

Producer: Vincent Park from Franklin HS
PSA Name: "Scrape It" Live action

Producers: Kim Parker from Franklin HS
PSA Title: "Wipes in the Pipes" Live action

Producer: Antonio Payne from Franklin HS
PSA Name: "Trash Can" Live action

Producers: Kandace Duong from Franklin HS
PSA Title: "Don't Flush Pills" Live action


For more information:
Donna Girot
Executive Director
Access Sacramento
Work:  1-916-456-8600 x 100

Nicole Coleman
Public Affairs Manager
Sacramento Area Sewer District & Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District
Work: 1-916-876-6246
Cell: 1-916-704-5502

Access Sacramento is a 501(c)3 non-profit foundation with primary funding from the Sacramento Metropolitan Cable Television Commission.